Fundamentals of Floral Design, 1/5

Way back, I shared that I signed up for a floral design class, and I’m excited to report that I finally had my first class on Monday. My class will meet each Monday during the month of July, and I plan to share little recaps on here each week of what we learn, as well as photos of the arrangements I make in class.

Lacing Flowers Floral Arrangement

We get to bring our arrangements home each week, and I’m excited to have fresh blooms on a weekly basis! This arrangement, which I think looks a bit patriotic and is perfect for Independence Day, features:

Lacing Flowers Floral Arrangement

  • Pink & white alstromeria
  • Purple sweet William
  • Red carnations
  • Pink miniature carnations
  • White daisies (which we learned are actually mums that look like daisies, but are much hardier for arrangements)
  • Purple statice
  • Leather leaf

We learned the basic lacing method to make this arrangement, which is basically crossing the stems to keep the flowers secure in a pleasing shape.

Lacing Flowers Floral ArrangementI’m pretty pleased with my first arrangement!

PS – If you’re near Indianapolis, this class is offered through IUPUI and takes place at JP Parker Flowers in Franklin.

21 responses

  1. i think that i could definitely be a florist 🙂 it seems so relaxing to arrange flowers and of course i love how they smell! your arrangement looks great, can’t wait to read how the rest of the classes go!
    xoamy

  2. SO exciting! For some reason, I think this is something you’re going to be really great at! Can’t wait to see all your arrangements! (And hopefully you’ll throw in a few tips for us along the way!) 🙂

  3. So fun! I need to check and see if something similar is offered in my area. I love having fresh flowers but at hopeless when it comes to arranging them. I can always see how I want them to look, but not necessarily the steps I need to take to get them there! Your arrangement is absolutely gorgeous, and perfect for July!

  4. Pingback: Fundamentals of Floral Design, 2/5 « Tulle and Trinkets

  5. Pingback: Fundamentals of Floral Design, 3/5 « Tulle and Trinkets

  6. Pingback: Fundamentals of Floral Design, 4/5 « Tulle and Trinkets

  7. Pingback: Fundamentals of Floral Design, 5/5 « Tulle and Trinkets

Leave a comment